Resources Corporate Training Blog

ITIL® V3 Intermediate CSI

Download Course View More

ITIL® V3 Intermediate CSI

One of the modules in the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management qualification, the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement (CSI) certification focuses on how processes can ensure ongoing improvements and deliver results and customer satisfaction. CSI practices help businesses adapt and evolve to growing demands and changes in businesses. The ITIL® CSI tools and techniques are geared towards evaluating the risks and success factors associated with improvements and how these activities can help improve efficiencies and returns on investment for organizations.

Why Should You Choose ITIL® V3 Intermediate CSI?

  • Improves metrics and management reporting.
  • Increases the overall quality of business operations.
  • Helps the business plan for investments according to business needs.
  • Minimizes the communication gap between the customer and service provider.
  • Improves the quality and availability of services.
Download Course

ITIL® V3 Intermediate CSI - Instructor Led Training

15 th  October
Sat&Sun (4 Weeks) Weekends Batches
Timings: 07:00 AM - 11:30AM(IST)
Sold Out
25 th  October
Sat&Sun (4 Weeks) Weekends Batches
Timings: 07:00 AM - 11:30AM(IST)
Filling Fast
1 st  November
Sat&Sun (4 Weeks) Weekends Batches
Timings: 07:00 AM - 11:30AM(IST)

ITIL® Curriculum

  • The purpose, objectives and scope of CSI
  • The value to the business of adopting and implementing CSI
  • The context of CSI in the ITIL® service lifecycle
  • The approach to CSI, including key interfaces and inputs and outputs
  • What the seven-step improvement process is, how each step can be applied and the benefits produced
  • How CSI integrates with the other stages in the ITIL® service lifecycle
  • How other processes play key roles in the seven-step improvement process
  • When to use assessments, what to assess and how a gap analysis can provide insight into the areas that have room for improvement
  • How to use benchmarking, service measurement, metrics, service reporting, including balanced scorecard and SWOT, to support CSI
  • How to measure return on investment, establish a business case and measure the benefits achieved
  • How techniques within availability management, capacity management, IT service continuity management and problem management can be used by CSI
  • The role of the CSI manager, and the roles of service owner, process owner, process manager and process practitioner in the context of CSI and how they can be positioned within an organization
  • How to design, implement and populate a RACI (responsible, accountable, consulted, informed) diagram as well as how to use it to support CSI

The technology and tools required and how these would be implemented and managed to support CSI activities such as performance, project and portfolio management, as well as service measurement and business intelligence reporting

CSI implementation: strategy, planning, governance, communication, project management, operation, as well as how to deal with cultural and organizational change

  • The challenges and risks such as staffing, funding, management, etc., which can be related to CSI and the details behind how each challenge can be addressed
  • The critical success factors related to CSI as well as how to measure and monitor them

About ITIL® Training

ITIL® Intermediate Continual Service Improvement (CSI) Certification is an intermediate level certification offered to professionals within the ITIL service management qualification program. The Continual Service Improvement Certificate is a free-standing qualification, but is also a key component of the ITIL Intermediate Lifecycle stream, and one of the modules that leads to the ITIL Expert Certificate in IT Service Management.This training module and the associated exam and certificate will test and validate your knowledge of industry best practices in service management documented in the ITIL Continual Service Improvement publication. It brings ITIL Intermediate CSI certification training to professionals who want the convenience of self-paced learning coupled with an online classroom learning environment

The ITIL® Intermediate exam is governed by APMG, EXIN, and CSME. Professionals require 21 hours of professional training before taking the ITIL Intermediate Exam. The exam fee for ITIL Intermediate exam varies per governing body.

The ITIL framework sets international quality benchmarks for IT professionals around the world. The value of ITIL has grown sharply in recent years and an ITIL certification is fast becoming an entry-level requirement for a majority of IT-based roles. ITIL® Intermediate training has a modular structure to provide expertise at every level of the IT service management lifecycle. ITIL CSI certification is a prerequisite for many key roles in the IT sector. It is accredited by APMG and TUV as an ITIL Foundation and Intermediate Training provider and an Accredited Examination Centre (AEC) by APMG, TUV and EXIN. The ITIL Intermediate CSI Certification is an intermediate level ITIL certification offered to professionals who pass the ITIL® CSI exam.

  • Define continual service improvement and describe continual service improvement principles and processes
  • Implement continual service improvement methods, techniques, and industry best practices
  • Define strategies for challenges, CSFs, and risk factors
  • Chief Information Officers (CIOs)
  • Chief Technology Officers (CTOs)
  • Service designers
  • IT architects
  • IT planners
  • IT consultants
  • IT audit managers
  • IT security managers

Frequently Asked Question's

The ITIL® 4 Certification Scheme comprises of the following levels:

  • The ITIL Intermediate CSI exam consists of multiple choice questions with eight questions per paper and is closed book. A candidate must receive a score of 28 out of 40 to pass (70%).
  • The ITIL® Intermediate Exam can be taken online from any country or at a local test center.
  • Upon registering for the exam, candidates will receive a confirmation email. After verification of their ITIL credentials, candidates can schedule their exam online. For taking the exam online, a webcam is required.
  • For the ITIL credentials verification, candidates are required to furnish a copy of their ITIL Foundation certificate as well as the course completion certificate for the ITIL Intermediate level training.

ITIL® Intermediate CSI course provides a complete management-level overview of continual service improvement and all of its related activities. Certified professionals can expect roles such as service delivery team member, manager or team lead for infrastructure, senior executive, manager or head of IT, and many more.Certified professionals in this field are in high demand and their job prospects grow with their certification levels. Certified professionals in ITIL Intermediate CSI field are highly paid for their skills and expertise in the industry. According to recent surveys by, the median salary for certified professionals in this field is $98,619.

Please send us an email to, and we will answer any queries you may have!